Meine Deutsche Streifzüge

“Wherever you go, go with all your heart.” –Confucius

Sooo I’m going to Germany (Munich to precise) to study abroad for four months in approximately 18 days. Not that I’m counting or anything. And yes, I’m starting my semester in April, when everyone else in the U.S. will be almost done with theirs.

I’m going with the Junior Year in Munich program. There will be 31 of us (none of whom I have met yet) for the Sommersemester (summer semester), along with those who are already there for the full year. I will be living in the StuStadt (a German style dorm and it literally means student city) and taking classes with JYM and hopefully at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, depending on how I do on the placement test. Yes, they will be in German–I’m just a little scared.

But I’m going there to learn the language and the culture, and hopefully I’ll make some new friends along the way. I’ve started this blog to update my friends and family on my experiences and thoughts as I explore the wonderful part of the world that is Europe.

Meine Deutsche Streifzüge means “my German rambles.” (Fun fact, Streifzüge literally translates to “striped trains.”) Anyway, I thought Streifzüge was appropriate because I’m not sure how this blog (or my semester for that matter) is going to turn out. All I know is that it’s going to be challenging learning experience, and I’m excited to open it up and ramble through the contents. Like most juniors in college, I’m not sure where life is taking me. I’m wandering from one adventure to the next. And now it’s time to get on a striped train to Munich.

Wherever you go, go wstriped trainith all your heart.

Worn out and broken in like hand-me downs.

And every memory is like a skipping stone,

You’ll never understand how long It took the tides to bring them back to us.”

–“Skipping Stone” by Transit

Leave a Reply

